Concord Band Logo The Concord Band
Box 302, Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-897-9969

Program Notes

Concerto in B♭ Major

bassoon solo (1774)

Wolfgang A. Mozart, composer

Charles Yeago, arranger

Mozart scored the Concerto in B♭ Major for bassoon solo, two oboes, two horns, and strings. It is the earliest surviving concerto for a wind instrument by Mozart (dated 1774), and is likely one work of a small series commissioned by Munich amateur Baron Thaddeus von Dürnitz. Mozart exploits the unique and distinctive qualities of the bassoon: contrasting registers, rapid note repletion and passages, staccato articulation punctuation, and beautiful instrument color. In developing this arrangement for band, Charles Yeago distributes the string parts among the woodwinds and keeps the transparency of the piece intact, including all embellishments of the period.



This page last updated: 2022/7/31
David Tweed, webmaster
© Copyright 1995-2022
The Concord Band Association.