Concord Band Logo The Concord Band
Box 302, Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-897-9969

Program Notes

Concerto in F Minor

Oskar Böhme, composer

Geoffrey Bergler, arranger

Concerto in F Minor, with its long melodic lines and virtuoso passages, stands as the only authentic trumpet concerto of the Romantic Period. The composer, Oskar Böhme (1870-1938), was the son of a Dresden trumpeter. He emigrated to Russia as a young man and joined one of the orchestras of the St. Petersburg Imperial Theaters in 1889. He was principal trumpet at the Marinsky Theater from 1903-1924 and later held various other teaching and performing posts in Leningrad (St. Petersburg) and Tshkalov. The first movement of this wonderful concerto was arranged for concert band by Geoffrey Bergler.


This page last updated: 2022/7/31
David Tweed, webmaster
© Copyright 1995-2022
The Concord Band Association.