Concord Band Logo The Concord Band
Box 302, Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-897-9969

Program Notes

People Who Live in Glass Houses


John Philip Sousa, composer

Sousa is widely known for his marches, but he also wrote many other works including a number of suites. People Who Live in Glass Houses (A Bacchanal Suite in Four Movements) is a unique and lively four-movement suite composed one year before the Sousa Band’s world tour of 1910. Each movement is a musical representation of the country or region where a particular type of drink originated (The Champagnes, The Rhine Wines, The Whiskeys, Convention of the Cordials). The piece was revised for orchestra and also used for the revival of Sousa’s operetta, The Bride Elect, in 1923.

JRO and published score


This page last updated: 2014/3/8
David Tweed, webmaster
© Copyright 1995-2022
The Concord Band Association.