Concord Band Logo The Concord Band
Box 302, Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-897-9969

Program Notes

Suite for Woodwinds

Concord Band commission (1990)

William M. Toland, composer

This piece was written for my good friend Sil D’Urbano and is a long work in three movements in which the soloist plays clarinet, bass clarinet, flute, alto flute, and soprano, alto, and tenor saxophones. A mix of concert and jazz idioms gives the piece the right feeling for Sil, whose playing style I tried to capture in the piece.



This page last updated: 2022/7/31
David Tweed, webmaster
© Copyright 1995-2022
The Concord Band Association.