Concord Band Logo The Concord Band
Box 302, Concord, MA 01742
Tel: 978-897-9969

Program Notes

Symphonic Dance Music from West Side Story


Leonard Bernstein, composer

Ian Polster, arranger

Now a concert piece in its own right, the Symphonic Dance Music has been excerpted from West Side Story and scored for band by Ian Polster. The movements are: Scherzo, Mambo, Cha-Cha, and Fugue. The Scherzo is quick and bright and features the woodwinds in a staccato style with constantly changing meter. The Mambo is fast and ebullient with brass figures predominating. The Cha-Cha is measured and graceful, a quiet respite from the marcato rhythms of the Mambo. The Fugue features swing-style boppy rhythms against long, tense chords. The entire suite features jazz style writing, and uses over twenty percussion instruments.



This page last updated: 2022/7/31
David Tweed, webmaster
© Copyright 1995-2022
The Concord Band Association.